Pistol Permits Regulations
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION SECOND AMENDMENT
A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.
ALABAMA STATE LAWS PERTAINING TO PISTOL LICENSES
Title 14 (Section 174) of the Alabama State Code says CERTAIN PERSONS ARE FORBIDDEN TO POSSESS A PISTOL;
No person who has been convicted in this State or elsewhere of committing or attempting to commit a crime of violence shall own a pistol or have one in his possession or under his control. (Violation of this section is punishable by imprisonment for not more than five (5) years. (Section 186 of the 1967 Supplement).
No person who is a drug addict or a habitual drunkard shall own a pistol or have one in his possession or under his control. (Violation of this section is punishable by imprisonment of any term less than one year, or a fine of not more than $500.00 or both. (Section 186 of the 1967 Supplement.
Who may obtain a pistol license?
ANSWER: Title 13A-11-75 of the Alabama State Code provides that the Sheriff of a county may issue a qualified or unlimited license to a person residing in the county, provided the person has a good reason to fear injury to his person or property, or has any other proper reason for carrying a pistol, and is a Suitable person to be licensed. FEDERAL LAW PERTAINING TO GUNS
According to the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of October 22, 1968, the following people may not possess a firearm. “Any person who has been convicted by a court of the United States or a state or any political subdivision thereof of a felony;
Any person who has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions:
Any person who has been adjudged by a court of the United States of a state or any political subdivision thereof of being mentally incompetent;
Any person having been a citizen of the United States who has renounced his citizenship;
Any person being alien or illegally or unlawfully in the United States. A violation of the above may result in a fine of not more than $10,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than two years, or both.”